Alicia Felberbaum

visual artist

The Vitruvian Woman

The Vitruvian Woman is a collaborative video art project initiated in 2009 and headed by Chang. In 2009, 34 artists collaborated in creating nine threads of video art following nine dogmas of the female body. The Vitruvian Woman had its premiere screening in March, 2009 at Formverk Art Zone, an art and exhibition space in Sweden. Formwerk is run by the resident artists Stina Pehrsdotter and Niclas Hallberg. In December 2009,The Vitruvian Woman was part of the video art festival, Video Dia Loghi 2009, in Turin, Italy, curated by Willy Darko (IT) and Irina Gabiani (LUX).

2009 The Vitruvian Woman, opening talk, December 14, Cinema Massimo, Video Dia Loghi 2009 Video festival, Torino

2009 The Vitruvian Woman, installation, December 14 – 23, Velan Gallery for Contemporary Art, Video Dia Loghi 2009 Video festival, Torino
2009 The Vitruvian Woman, world premiere installation, March 14 – April 19, Formverk Art Zone, Eskilstuna

Festival programme excerpt

The Vitruvian Woman is a multimedia sculpture created by 34 artists from around the world. Inspired by Leonardo da Vinci’s sketch; The Vitruvian Man, which idealises the classic proportions of the human body, in his case the male body, The Vitruvian Woman sets out to trace the multidimensionality of womanhood in a flow of five three-minute video sequences reflecting the nine bodily regions: the head, heart, stomach, sexual organ, right arm, left arm, left leg, right leg and feet. This poetry of dismemberment screened on nine monitors draws on diverse chapters of female identity, from scenes of domestic life to the sensibilities of lingerie and lust. Allegories of the flesh and a male beaten to pulp add to the shaky image of female empowerment as it alternately pins its hope on Buddhist mantra and surrenders to the flux of collective consciousness.”
Kim Wyon, Genoa, Italy.


Aditi Kulkarni, (India)
Alberto Guerreiro (Portugal)
Alexandra Buhl (Denmark)
Alicia Felberbaum (United Kingdom)
Alison Williams (South Africa)
Ambuja Magaji (USA)
Anders Weberg (Sweden)
Anica Vucovik (Serbia)
Arthur Tuoto (Brazil)
Brad Wise (USA)
Bruno Penteado (Brazil) & Henrique Cartaxo (Brazil)
Christy Walsh (USA)
Dave Swensen (USA)
Debbie Douez (Canada)
Igor Amin (Brazil)
Irina Gabiani (Luxembourg)
Jan Kather (USA)
Joas Sebastian Nebe (Germany)
Joy Whalen (USA)
Kai Lossgott (South Africa)
Kika Nicolela (Brazil)
Michael Chang (Denmark) & Melanie Chilianis (Australia)
Niclas Hallberg (Sweden)
Per E Riksson (Sweden)
Renata Padovan (Brazil)
Ronee Hui (United Kingdom)
Stina Pehrsdotter (Sweden)
Simone Stoll (Germany) & Anthony Siarkiewicz (USA)
Ulf Kristiansen (Norway)
Uma Ray (India)
Willy Darko (Italy)